An Iranian In Qatar

Profile Story: Souq Waqif

He stood on the front porch of the restaurant, moving his head right and left, gazing on the people that passed by. The place, one of the best Persian restaurants in the area, was closed. Opening time was still far and Basem Saedi was using the time to take a quiet break.
“I moved here to Qatar as a waiter, because I believe in hard work, that is why I want to gain experience, settle down and from there I will start working my way up; finish my education and do a masters degree before I can move on to work as an engineer.”
A single man, Saedi arrived in Doha two months ago. Having travelled back and forth for a while he decided to go to Doha, like many, looking for a better future.
After his graduation he visited Malaysia looking for opportunities in the free business market. After making some profits he returned to Iran, where he is originally from.
“My friends back at home encouraged me to move to the gulf; everyone believes the best jobs are here in Doha.”
The trip to Doha however wasn’t an easy one, “I tried to get a visa to come visit Doha and look for opportunities, but the authorities told me it was very hard to get a visa, let alone a residency permit.” After a long search opportunity opened a door, “a man at the visa application department said I could get a visa if I came to Doha to work at this restaurant.” And so he did.
Saedi looked around, “I love people, meeting them and talking to them.” His new job allowed him to interact with all kinds of people from all around the world. “I am thankful ton (sic) Allah, and blessed with this job and happy to be in a country where there is peace and safety and everyone around me is kind and respectful.”
Long hours at the restaurant make up his day. Sometimes eight hours sometimes up to ten hours, hard at work, and with just one day off. “I am happy, you have to work hard. In my day off, I like to go out with my friends and go to shopping malls such as Villagio and City Center. We also like going to the Corniche.”
A long journey in pursuit of his dreams awaits Saedi; long hours of work, far from home at a slow pace. But at the end of the tunnel, there is light. “I want to go back home, work as an engineer, and marry the girl of my dreams.”

Leave a comment